June 29, 2018


As was widely expected, Premier Doug Ford swore in a cabinet of 20 today, a bit of a drop from the 28-member front bench of Kathleen Wynne’s government, and there is question about whom Ford trusts.

He put to rest any thoughts that there may be tensions lingering from the leadership race with the appointment of runner-up Christine Elliott to Minister of Health and Deputy Premier.

There is also a lot of faith put in former federal cabinet minister Greg Rickford and businessman-turned-MPP Rod Phillips. In Energy, Northern Development and Mines and Indigenous Affairs, Rickford is tasked with cleaning up the hydro mess in the province. Phillips becomes Environment, Conservation and Parks Minister, putting the scrapping of cap-and-trade and the looming battle with the federal government over the carbon tax right on his lap.

It is also clear that Ford was impressed with the job Vic Fedeli did in stewarding the party from Patrick Brown’s departure to Ford’s ascension, and cleaning what they described at the time as “rot” from the party. That trust has turned into the Finance Minister post for Fedeli, where he will no doubt be working closely with rookie Peter Bethlenfalvy; as President of the Treasury Board, to find the $6 billion Ford has pledged to trim from the provincial budget.

Ford has also promised to revisit the school curriculum, particularly as it pertains to math and sex ed. That duty falls to Lisa Thompson as Education Minister, a bit a surprise move as she has a background as a farmer and many expected her to be tabbed as Agriculture Minister. Thompson, considered a moderate in the party, played a key role in guiding the leadership race as a member of Provincial Nomination Committee and this promotion is said to be a reward for that work.


As of June 29, 2018

  • Premier — Doug Ford
  • Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier — Christine Elliott
  • Attorney General and Francophone Affairs — Caroline Mulroney
  • Finance and Chair of Cabinet — Vic Fedeli
  • President of the Treasury Board — Peter Bethlenfalvy
  • Energy, Northern Development and Mines and Indigenous Affairs — Greg Rickford
  • Children, Community and Social Services — Lisa MacLeod
  • Environment, Conservation and Parks — Rod Phillips
  • Labour — Laurie Scott
  • Education — Lisa Thompson
  • Training, Colleges and Universities — Merrilee Fullerton
  • Seniors and Accessibility — Raymond Cho
  • Infrastructure — Monte McNaughton
  • Natural Resources and Forestry — Jeff Yurek
  • Community Safety and Correctional Services — Michael Tibollo
  • Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade — Jim Wilson
  • Municipal Affairs and Housing — Steve Clark
  • Transportation — John Yakubuski
  • Agriculture — Ernie Hardeman
  • Government and Consumer Services, Government House Leader — Todd Smith
  • Tourism, Culture and Sport — Sylvia Jones
Print Friendly, PDF & Email